A new classification for Crus Bourgeois

After ten years of work, Crus Bourgeois du Médoc has a new classification.

Crus Bourgeois du Médoc has a new classification
Crus Bourgeois du Médoc has a new classification

After ten years of deliberation, Crus Bourgeois du Médoc has a new classification. The wines are now divided into three categories: Cru Bourgeois, Cru Bourgeois Supérieur and Cru Bourgeois Exceptionnel. The new classification will appear on labels from the 2018 vintage onwards. 

“The new classification can finally be introduced,” said a statement from Les Crus Bourgeois. “The classification is a guarantee of quality for consumers, which also makes selection easier.”

In order to qualify as a Cru Bourgeois, a wine has to undergo a sensory analysis in a blind tasting. To qualify as part of the other two tiers, other factors are considered, including viticulture, harvesting, cellar work and quality systems, as well as how the winery communicates through its sales and marketing materials. To reach the upper classification levels, the winery must have the HVE2 sustainability certificate, or be undergoing the certification process.

The crus are classified every five years.

As of February 2020, there are 248 classified châteaux: 179 are Cru Bourgeois, 59 are Crus Bourgeois Supérieur and 14 are Crus Bourgeois Exceptionnels.

The Cru Bourgeois classification lists some of the Médoc châteaux that are not part of the 1855 Classification of Crus Classés, or Classed Growths. The first Cru Bourgeois list was drawn up by the Bordeaux Chamber of Commerce and Chamber of Agriculture in 1932. The first revision of this list began in 2000 and was completed in 2003, when a number of châteaux were dropped. The 2003 classification was legally annulled in 2007 after a court challenge.

A revised classification was introduced in 2010. This latest classification took effect on 20 February 2020.

For full access...

Please log in or register now»               No subscription?  Try out our free 14 day trial»

Latest Articles